Outdoor Shakespearean Theatre
Israel Baran Award

Israel Baran Award

Joanna Garner (c) with the cast and crew of “The Orange Garden” (l to r), Daniel Dorr, James Simenc, Stage Manager Karen Osborne, Director Rachel Berney Needleman, Jordanna Lily, Dramaturg Jennie Webb, Reza Sixo Safai, Nima Jafari & Vaneh Assadourian

2018 Israel Baran Award Recipient
The Orange Garden by Joanna Garner

2017 Israel Baran Award Recipient
Still Life by Barbara Blumenthal-Ehrlich

2016 Israel Baran Award Recipient
The Last Nights of Scheherazade by Paula Cizmar

2015 Israel Baran Award Recipient
Jew Kamp by Stephanie Swirsky

2013 Israel Baran Award Recipient
Recipe by Michael Gene Sullivan

2012 Israel Baran Award Recipient
The English Bride by Lucile Lichtblau

2011 Israel Baran Award Recipient
The Territory of Dreams by Velina Hasu Houston

2010 Israel Baran Award Recipient
How to Shoot a Bull Moose by Jonathan Goldberg


ISRAEL BARAN (1917 – 2007)
Israel Baran was Theatricum’s first dramaturg and a beloved member of the company. His unique spirit helped Theatricum’s new play development program, Seedlings, take root. To honor his memory, Theatricum has established the Israel Baran Award.

As a nod to Baran’s keen mind, sharp tongue and ear for language (despite the fact that he was frustratingly deaf), the award is given each year to the Seedlings play that speaks to us the loudest.

The “Izzy” is made possible, in part, by a generous donation from a Seedlings playwright in recognition of Israel’s commitment to encouraging new works.